Lake Erie Speedway holds championship races

Drivers compete for the championship at Lake Erie Speedway on September 6.
Racing awards banquet in November

By Courtney Speaks/

The Lake Erie Speedway has been busy this summer featuring races on most Saturdays since May 24.

The championship races were held in September and five overall champions were announced. The winners were as follows: NASCAR Compacts, Jeff Breads; INEX Bandoleros, Matt Mead; NASCAR Street Stocks, Ed Hall; USLCI Legends, Carl Vilardo; and Plyler Overhead Door Modifieds, Chris Bailey.  It is a big accomplishment to win these races as they first have to qualify to be in the championship races and then race against 10 other cars to win overall.

The speedway features five types of races, as noted above, and the size of the car and personal preference dictate what type of race the driver/car will enter. The races last until around 9 p.m. and feature a fireworks show after the last race.

The races are on a short hiatus, but there will be an awards banquet on Nov. 15 at the Avalon Hotel and Conference Center. The banquet doors open at 6:00 p.m. and a buffet dinner will be provided. Tickets are $30 a person and must be paid by Oct. 17.